a visit to the ER

After being really irritable for a couple days, I decided it was time to go back to the doctor to get medication, and it is a good thing because by the time I got there I was in trouble.  I was nauseous, my fingers were tingling, I felt like I had been hit by a truck my body was aching so badly, I also was shivering uncontrollably on a hot muggy day, my temperature was 102.9 F  After throwing up in the doctor’s office, I was taken to the ER.

It turns out that my potassium was low.  So much for the 1200 calorie medically supervised diet.  Clearly not going to work for me.  (It really is never easy).

Because my body was in so much pain, I didn’t notice the tell tale signs of diverticulitis, an infection of the bowel.  Not because I don’t eat a healthy fiber rich diet, it all goes back to when I had shigella, an intestinal parasite.  My body has never been the same since then, after that is when I was diagnosed with IBS, then a trip to Venezuela and subsequent taking of too much Imodium to get home without pooping my pants, and then not pooping for three weeks, constant back and forth between constipation and diarrhea; my bowels are a mess.

Now I am on a low residue diet (think jello, white bread, and yogurt).  Fun times.  My appetite is poor too, and I haven’t eaten above 1000 calories in several days.  Of course I have been in bed for three.

If you think dieting is all about calories in, calories out, you are sadly quite ignorant.

I have officially lost 13 pounds.

 

 

Leave a Reply

